German

Leichtweiß-Institute for Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources, Division of Hydromechanics and Coastal Engineering
Technische Universität Braunschweig

The division of Hydromechanics and Coastal Engineering was founded in 1971 and since then it has been one of four departments of the Leichtweiß-Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources (LWI) at the Technische Universität Braunschweig. The main research areas at division of Hydromechanics and Coastal Engineering include: (i) sea waves and design of coastal structures, (ii) non-conventional and innovative coastal structures, (iii) offshore structures, (iv) sediment transport and coastal morphodynamics, (v) coastal protection against tsunami and (vi) reliability and risk-based design methods in coastal engineering.

Leichtweiß-Institute building

The LWI is equipped with a hydraulic laboratory with a working area of 5600 m² in which coastal research issues are investigated by physical modelling, e.g. sea waves, coastal morphology and wave-induced loading of coastal structures. To perform hydraulic model studies, the division is equipped with various experimental facilities at different scales, where the 3D wave basin and twin-wave flumes represent the most important facilities. The range of the experimental installations at the institute and the Coastal Research Centre (FZK), in Hannover, reaches from a small demonstration model to one of the longest wave flumes in the world.

Within ECO-DIKE project, the LWI is mainly involved in the development and laboratory testing of green coastal revetments and sea dikes as well as the elaboration of recommendations for green sea dikes.

Leichtweiß-Institute inner buildung

Last updated on 01.08.2017

English

Leichtweiß-Institut für Wasserbau, Abteilung Hydromechanik und Küsteningenieurwesen
Technische Universität Braunschweig

Die Abteilung “Hydromechanik und Küsteningenieurwesen” wurde im Jahr 1971 gegründet und ist seitdem eine von vier Abteilungen des Leichtweiß-Institutes für Wasserbau. Die so entstandenen Schwerpunkte lassen sich in sechs Forschungsbereiche unterteilen und enthalten: (i) Seegang und Bemessung von Küstenbauwerken, (ii) innovative Küstenbauwerke, (iii) Offshore-Bauwerke, (iv) Sedimenttransport und Küstenmorphodynamik, (v) Tsunami-Küstenschutzmaßnahmen und (vi) probabilistische und risikobasierte Verfahren im Küsteningenieurwesen.

Leichtweiß-Institut außen

Das LWI verfügt in Braunschweig über eine 5600 m² große Versuchshalle, in der Seegang, Küstenmorphologie und Bauwerksbelastung mittels hydraulischer Modellversuche untersucht werden. Die Abteilung verfügt dabei über verschiedene Versuchsanlagen in unterschiedlichen Maßstäben, wobei das 3D Wellenbecken und die parallelen Wellenkanäle die wichtigsten Anlagen darstellen. Die Bandbreite der Versuchsanlagen reicht am Institut und im Forschungszentrum Küste (FZK), in Hannover, von einem Demonstrationsmodell bis hin zu einem der längsten Wellenkanäle der Welt.

Das LWI ist im Projekt ECO-DIKE vorrangig an der Entwicklung von grünen Küstendeckwerken und Küstendeichen und den zugehörigen Laborversuchen sowie der Ausarbeitung von Empfehlungen für grüne Küstendeiche beteiligt.

Leichtweiß-Institut Halle

Zuletzt aktualisiert am 01.08.2017